Certificate of Use Experts
Need a Miami-Dade Certificate of Use, you came to the right place at Dade Home Inspections, we are the experts.
Nobody beats our rates or service. We guarrantee the best price and service. Call or email us for a bid.

Adopted Ordinance to Protect Buyers of Foreclosed Homes

Adopted Ordinance to Protect Buyers of Foreclosed Homes

Effective on March 13, 2009 , buyers of foreclosed properties in unincorporated Miami-Dade County will receive some defense against sudden repairs or other inadequacies of the property under an ordinance taken up by the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners (BCC) on December 2, 2008.

Ordinance No. 08-133 affects all residential properties in unincorporated Miami-Dade County which are obtained through a Certificate of Title (Foreclosures and Judgments), in accordance with Chapter 45, Florida Statutes. Residential properties involved include single-family homes, condominiums, townhouses and duplexes.

The chosen ordinance asks that title holders of foreclosed properties acquire a Certificate of Use (CU) before to offering the property for sale, transfer or alienation.

On March 3, 2009 the BCC chose the implementing orders addressing this new term. These implementing orders encompass refinements to the CU method administered by the Department of Planning and Zoning (DP&Z) in order to provide for the new CU requirement and for the $300 (plus 8% surcharge) per-property filing and processing fee.

The new CU includes the preparation of a disclosure of findings report, which identifies building or zoning code violations for such properties and includes a good faith estimate of the expense to remedy any deficiencies. This report must be performed by an architect or professional engineer licensed and registered in the State of Florida. The new CU process can be shortly described as follows:

  • Completed disclosure of findings report will be submitted to the Zoning Permits Section of the Department at the Miami-Dade Permitting and Inspection Center on Coral Way (11805 SW 26 Street), along with the initial filing fee of $250 + 8% surcharge.

  • Department of Planning and Zoning staff will review the report and determine acceptance or denial (neither of which is contingent upon resolution of reported violations). Staff will report potential violations to the appropriate agencies.

  • If the disclosure of findings report is rejected and must be re-submitted, an additional $50 + 8% surcharge fee will be charged.

  • If the disclosure of findings report is accepted, the holder of the Certificate of Title will file the accepted report with the Clerk of the Courts.

  • The recorded document will then be submitted to DP&Z (along with the remaining filing fee amount of $50 + 8% surcharge ) in order to obtain the final Certificate of Use
Failure to obtain the required CU will result in penalties as provided in Chapter 8CC of the County code. Untitled Document

Also there is...

Certificate of Use

No Upfont Fees...

We don't charge anything up front. Call us now to schedule your appointment.
More Information...

Certificate of Use

We get paid at closing...

Don't come "out-of-pocket" for your certificate of use, we get pad at closing by the bank or asset manager.
More Information...